Searching Academic Australia

A+ Education Database

With the knowledge that this tool searches Australian journals, I considered the relevance of the word phrases previously used, and removed ‘elementary’ from my simple search. Applying the previously used Boolean operators such as double quotation marks and brackets left me with zero results, so I removed them and replaced with ‘AND’. A+ Education behaved completely differently to Google Scholar with the use of double quotation marks and brackets. Applying ‘AND’ attracted 11 hits, but the results were still extremely narrow and had not targeted my focus topic.

Simple Search

Simple Search

 

Advanced Search was a welcomed feature to work with and more successful. With the options of adding extra rows, and OR, AND, NOT, I was able to create a search string which successfully attracted the articles that I needed (225 hits). Applying a year range filter allowed me to find relevant and current articles (173 hits). These articles appeared to be more related to my focus group of inquiry learning in primary school geography than any other search, and so I saved three articles for later reading.

Advanced Search

Advanced Search

The feature of ‘browse publications’ made available two geography journal publications. By selecting a publication under the chosen topic of geography, and limiting the search to ‘this publication’, I was able to browse through journal topics. Although this search found several interesting articles about geography and teaching, the focus was on teacher professional development, rather than student learning.

Journal Search String

Journal Search String

Browse Publications

Browse Publications

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

